Apocalypse: Wasteland

Standard

Year: 0 Day: 3 After Apocalypse

Yesterday I arrived safely at the LA airport. Upon my arrival, I encountered another survivor, a pilot, who said he read my previous messages. He agreed to take me to Cancun in exchange if food and water. I gave him the ration of my last day of provisions hoping I could find some more in the plane. After some searching we found a functioning plane that was big enough to take us to our destination. We departed at 11: 55 pm. Four hours into the flight the fuel started to run out, giving us barely enough time to land in Atlanta’s international airport at 4 am today. We searched for hours but found no fuel. After pondering upon the fact that I might be stuck in Atlanta we found another plane, considerably smaller than the firs one, but this one had a full tank so we took our chances. Before leaving I entered the main building of the airport, or what was left of it, to look for some more provisions. All I could find was a broken vending machine with two bags if chips and an open box if milk duds, which I decided not to take for health reasons. We took off again at 8 am and arrived at Cancun at 11: 30 am where me and the pilot parted ways after saying he had his own plans to fulfill. I walked from Cancun’s airport to my house, hoping it would still be there. It took a while but on my walk I was befuddled, what once used to be the beautiful city of Cancun is now a wasteland with the ruins of what used to be hotels. I got to my house, luckily it was is still standing, not in the best shape, but good enough for shelter. I walked inside only to find empty rooms and the crisp eery feeling of an abandoned house. My hope was gone, none of my family members were there. Right before loosing my mind I saw something, a small torn piece of paper under the burnt remains of what once was my bookshelf. I ran, and grabbed it, it was burned almost completely, but the piece that I have reads “we are ok”
I know that was written for me, they knew I would look for them, they knew I would come, and they are alive. I am oblivious of where to find them, but I will. Again, if you are out there, there is still hope, I am now sure I am not alone, and neither are you. Keep fighting, we will prevail.

One response

  1. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Extremely useful info specially the remaining section 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this particular info for a long time. Thanks and good luck.