Apocalypse: Hope on the Day of Mircacles

Standard

Year: 0 Day: 4 After apocalypse

Today is Christmas, or it would be if it weren’t for the small problem of the apocalypse that happened four days ago. Instead of spending the day with my family I spent the day looking for them. After finding the note yesterday, I slept for a while to recover my strength. I woke up at dawn, and prepared for the expedition in search for my family, and if possible, other survivors. I left my house before 8 am and started my search throughout the city. After walking for an hour I started noticing something: animals, many of them. Apparently they had way better survival skills than humans. I stopped at “malecon/plaza las americas” which once was a thriving mall where a lot of the city’s people went. Now it was empty. I decided to search there because it was in really good shape, given the situation. As I entered cinepolis, the shopping malls cinema, a dog stood up and stared at me. I tried to calm him down, but he kept walking towards me, not hesitating whatsoever. When he was 2 feet away from me I was prepared to fight, but he relaxed, rolled over and barked happily. After that I could not keep him away from me. I called him cloud because of a cloud shaped spot on his back. Since Cloud was the only thing I found in the mall, we left to keep searching for my family. Right before sundown, I noticed a small column of smoke coming from the ruins of the “plaza de toros” which is where the bull fights took place. we headed towards there. Once inside we proceeded with caution, only to find a small group of survivors. They welcomed us with open arms and shared their food and shelter with us. I guess in a way I did celebrate Christmas, with old canned food and a group of strangers, but as sad as it sounds, it was great. Remember, if you are out there, don’t lose hope, and if you are reading this, merry Christmas.

Comments are closed.